2011 Jones Cup women’s competition concludes

Taiwan defeated Korea’s Samsung club team 73-50 Thursday in the final game to win the 2011 William Jones Cup tournament women’s competition with an undefeated record (4-0).

The title was Taiwan’s seventh in tourney history.

In the other game of the night, Japan routed India 98-62 to finish as runner-up with 3-1.

To everyone’s surprise, Samsung finished without a win in the tourney and snapped South Korean teams’ three-peat quest in the tournament. South Korea sent WKBL teams instead of its national team to the Jones Cup in the past three years.

Local media reported that Samsung’s import was injured and two of its best players were on the national team.

Taiwan women’s NT head coach Chang Hui-ying was quoted as saying that she was unhappy with the team’s defensive effort as players seemed to relax a bit after a big lead.

Final Standings:
Taiwan 4-0
Japan 3-1
Taiwan WUG 2-2
India 1-3
Samsung (Korea) 0-4


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s