Taiwan edges Australia for 2008 Jones Cup crown

Chu Yung-hsuan made a go-ahead basket, her only field goal in the game, with 6.1 seconds to go as Taiwan beat Australia U-19 NT 55-54 in the 2008 Jones Cup women’s group final and won the title for the first time since 2005.

Trailing for almost the entire second half, Australia took a 54-53 lead with 40 seconds remaining after Stephanie Cumming scored five of her 12 points in the fourth quarter.

Chu, who had three points, 4 strals and 6 boards in the game, made the game-changing basket with 6.1 seonds left and Taiwan sure knew who Australia would go to. Tsai Pei-chen intentionally fouled Cumming in the ensuing possession as Australia struggled to get off the deperation shot in the final seconds.

Korea’s Woori Bank beat Malaysia 84-62 in the bronze medal game.

More summary to come later…

Final placing:
1. Taiwan
2. Australia
3. Woori Bank
4. Malaysia


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s